Visit the LSU School of Music | Visit the LSU School of Theatre

CMDA Hall of Distinction Awards Ceremony and Luncheon

2013 Aug 25 CMDA Hall Of Distinction Web

CMDA Hall of Distinction Awards Ceremony and Luncheon

The LSU College of Music & Dramatic Arts will honor notable faculty members, supporters and alumni at the upcoming Hall of Distinction Ceremony on Monday, August 25, 2013.


Sunday, August 25, 2013
The Club at LSU Union Square
2:00 p.m.

Tickets $45 per person
To reserve, please contact Mary Bayle at 225-578-8594

A three-course tapas-style luncheon, with tea, water, and coffee will be served
A cash bar will be available.

The Club at LSU Union Square is located at
The corner of Highland Road and Raphael Semmes
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
(formerly known as the Faculty Club)

Hall of Distinction Inductees

Faculty Awards: Gresdna Doty and Dan Sher

Gresdna A. Doty, alumni professor emerita, holds a PhD degree from Indiana University. She was an active member of the theatre faculty for 29 years, during the gradual transition of the program from component of the Department of Speech to independent Department of Theatre, and was director of theatre in the former and first chair of the latter. She taught theatre history, directed dissertations and plays, and served as national chairman of the American College Theatre Festival, dean of the College of Fellows of the American Theatre, and co-director of the international Royal Court Theatre (London) Conference at LSU, and was instrumental in the establishment of Swine Palace Productions. Although she retired in May 1996, Professor Doty remains active in supporting the LSU Department of Theatre and in her profession.

Dan Sher was a member of the faculty at the LSU School of Music for 24 years serving as professor and chair for the piano faculty and then as dean for nine years. Mr. Sher was the first dean to begin raising private funds for the school.

Alumni Awards: Wil Calhoun and Mary Sue Chambers

Wil Calhoun is an American television producer and writer best known for his work on the sitcom Friends for which he was nominated for a Primetime Emmy in 1999. In 2002, Calhoun along with Dan Schneider, created the series What I Like About You starring Amanda Bynes and Jennie Garth. Some of his other television credits include I hate my teenage daughter, Jesse, Sons & Daughters, Caroline in the City, Kath & Kim and Gary Unmarried.

Mary Sue Chambers, a graduate of the LSU School of Music in 1951, has dedicated her life, her financial resources, and her energies to help make LSU School of Music one of the best in the nation.

Legacy Awards: Claude L. Shaver and Everett Timm

The late Claude L. Shaver, alumni professor emeritus, or “Prof”, as his colleagues and students affectionately knew him, was a member of the LSU faculty for 45 years. During that time, he developed the theatre program from a fledgling activity to a well-respected component of the Department of Speech, gave several hundred students their introduction to staging and acting through the 88 mainstage plays he directed, and supervised 46 theses and dissertations. He had a major role in the design of the art deco theatre, which now bears his name, in the M&DA building.
Dr. Everett L. Timm was dean of the Louisiana State University School of Music for 24 years. Dr. Timm returned to LSU in 1948 as an assistant professor and taught flute and other woodwind instruments. He continued the LSU Symphony from 1948 until he became director of the School of Music in 1955. He founded the LSU Faculty Woodwind Quintet, now known as the Timm Woodwind Quintet.